You are using an older version of Internet Explorer that is not supported on this site. Please upgrade for the best experience.

Department of Emergency Medicine, UMMS-Baystate


UMMS-Baystate logo759 Chestnut Street, Springfield 5
Springfield, MA 01199
Phone: 413-794-5375


Division Chiefs

Education Programs



Advanced Practice

4th Year Electives for Medical Students

Scholarly Activity


The research of the Department of Emergency Medicine is clinical and focuses on:

  • Cardiac arrest resuscitation
  • Congestive heart failure
  • Simulation
  • Acute coronary syndrome
  • Emergency medical services
  • Ischemia/reperfusion injury
  • Patient safety and health services
  • Emergency ultrasound

The department, as well as the institution, has grant monies available on a competitive basis for educational and research projects.


View recent Department of Emergency Medicine publications in the Scholarly Commons database.


Our faculty have primary academic appointments at UMass Medical School-Baystate. View our Emergency Medicine faculty profiles on the UMass Medical School website.

General Emergency Medicine Division

  • Robert H. Baevsky, M.D.
  • Gerald Beltran, D.O.
  • Jeffrey Alexander Dan, M.D.
  • Nicholas Joel Daniel, D.O.
  • Ashley Deutsch, M.D.
  • John J. George, M.D.
  • Julien Ginsberg-Peltz, M.D.
  • Darius Kazimir Greenbacher, M.D.
  • Aaron Hexdall, M.D.
  • Kathleen A. Kerrigan, M.D.
  • Tae-Hyong Kim, D.O.
  • Michael J. Lemanski, M.D.
  • Benjamin Bruce Mattingly, M.D.
  • Gregory Shawn McDonald, M.D.
  • Niels Kumar Rathlev, M.D.
  • Ned Ivan Rudnitzky, M.D.
  • John P. Santoro, M.D.
  • Joseph Charles Schmidt, M.D.
  • Michele Schroeder, M.D.
  • Jeannette Marie Wolfe, M.D.

Education Division

  • Adam R. Kellogg, M.D.
  • Lucienne Lutfy-Clayton, M.D.
  • Benjamin W. Osborne, M.D.
  • Liza Gonen Smith, M.D.
  • Rakesh Talati, M.D.
  • Susan P. Torrey, M.D.

Pediatric Emergency Medicine Division

  • Richard J. Gabor, M.D.
  • Joeli Hettler, M.D.
  • Jocelyn R., Jensen, M.D.
  • Krista Kitchen, M.D.
  • Holly Elaine Perry, M.D.
  • Kenneth P. Platt, M.D.
  • Kimball Ann Prentiss, M.D.
  • Blake Spirko, M.D.

Research Division

  • Timothy J. Mader, M.D.
  • James Hector Pope, M.D.
  • Howard A. Smithline, M.D., M.S.
  • William Soares III, M.D.
  • Lauren Westafer, D.O., M.P.H., M.S.

Ultrasound Division

  • Gavin Budhram, M.D.
  • Jeffrey Alexander Dan, M.D.
  • Tala Rita Elia, M.D.
  • Elizabeth M. Schoenfeld, M.D.
  • Carla Sterling, M.D.

Wilderness Division

  • Nicholas Daniel, D.O.
  • Benjamin Mattingly, M.D.