You are using an older version of Internet Explorer that is not supported on this site. Please upgrade for the best experience.

Niels K. Rathlev, MD, FACEP

Department of Emergency Medicine

Institutional Leadership Roles

  • Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine, University of Massachusetts Medical School-Baystate

Academic Appointment

  • Professor of Emergency Medicine, University of Massachusetts Medical School-Baystate

Education and Training

  • Boston University/Boston City Hospital, Boston, MA
    Internship and Residency in Internal Medicine (1980-1983)
  • Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine, Cleveland, OH
    M.D. (1976-1980)
  • Duke University, Durham, NC
    B.S., Biology (1976)

Scholarly Foci

  • Emergency department crowding
  • Health services research
  • Pain management

Scholarly Activity

View a list of Dr. Rathlev's publications in the Scholarly Commons repository.

Professional Societies and Leadership Roles    

  • Baycare Health Partners
    • Board of Directors (2011-present)
  • Society of Academic Emergency Medicine    
    • Fellowship Approval Committee
      • Chair (2019-present)
    • Member (1988-present)
  • Massachusetts College of Emergency Physicians    
    • President (2014-2015)
    • Board of Directors (2008-present)
    • Member (1986-present)
  • American College of Emergency Physicians
    • Member (1983-present)

Significant Honors and Awards (Limit 5)

  • President’s Excellence Award, Overall Winner (Successful CAUTI Rate Reduction Using DMAIC Improvement and Change Management Strategy), Baystate Medical Center (2019)
  • President’s Excellence Award (Improving EMS to hospital communication with the eBridge STEMI pilot project), Baystate Medical Center (2019)
  • Western Journal of Emergency Medicine
    • Decision (Associate) Editor (2015-present)
    • Top Editorial Board Member (2015)
  • Boston University School of Medicine
    • Chair's Award, Department of Emergency Medicine (2001, 2008)
    • Outstanding Faculty Award, Boston Medical Center Emergency Medicine Residency Program (2005)
    • Outstanding Faculty Award, Boston City Hospital Emergency Medicine Residency Program (1991)
  • Fellow, American College of Emergency Physicians (1988)

Academic Office Contact Information

Department of Emergency Medicine
759 Chestnut Street
Springfield, MA 01351