You are using an older version of Internet Explorer that is not supported on this site. Please upgrade for the best experience.

Seth Kelly, MD, MBA

Portrait of Dr. Seth Kelly

Department of Emergency Medicine
Division of Prehospital and Disaster Medicine

Departmental/Divisional Leadership Roles

  • Division Chief, Prehospital and Disaster Medicine, Department of Emergency Medicine
  • Regional EMS Medical Director, Baystate Health

Academic Appointment

  • Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine at UMass Chan Medical School-Baystate

Education and Training

  • University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, Pittsburgh, PA
    Fellowship, Emergency Medical Services (2020-2021)
  • University of Maryland Medical Center, Baltimore, MD
    Residency, Emergency Medicine (2017-2020)
  • Texas A&M University, Bryan-College Station, TX
    M.D. (2013-2017)
  • University of Maryland, College Park, MD
    M.B.A. (2006-2008)
  • Dartmouth College, Hanover, NH
    A.B., Philosophy (1995-1999)

Scholarly Foci

  • Emergency medical services
  • Critical care transport medicine
  • Rescue and special operations medicine
  • Prehospital clinician and graduate medical education
  • Emergency preparedness and emergency/disaster management

Scholarly Activity

View a list of Dr. Kelly's publications in the Scholarly Commons repository.

Professional Societies and Leadership Roles

  • National Association of EMS Physicians       
    • Critical Care Airway Task Force (2021-present)
    • Education Committee (2018-present)
    • Emergency Preparedness Committee (2018-present)
    • Member (2017-present)
  • American College of Emergency Physicians
    • Emergency Medical Services Committee
      • Massachusetts Chapter (2021-present)
      • National (2018-present)
    • Disaster Preparedness and Response Committee
      • Member (2017-present)
    • Member (2013-present)
  • American Academy of Emergency Medicine
    • Emergency Medical Services Section (2021-present)
    • Member (2013-present)
  • Wilderness Medical Society
    • Member (2014-present)
  • Emergency Medicine Residents' Association
    • Prehospital and Disaster Medicine Committee
      • Chair (2018-2020)
      • Member (2014-2021)
    • Board of Directors (2016-2017)
    • Medical Student Council (2014-2017)
      • Chair (2016-2017)
    • Member (2013-2021)

Significant Honors and Awards (Limit 5)

  • Fellow, American Academy of Emergency Medicine (2021)
  • Fellow, Academy of Wilderness Medicine, Wilderness Medical Society (2021)
  • National EMS Medicine Medical Director Fellowship, National Associate of EMS Physicians / Stryker Corporation (2020)
  • "45 Under 45" in Emergency Medicine, Emergency Medicine Residents' Association (2019)
  • Emergency Medicine Resident of the Year, Maryland Chapter, American College of Emergency Physicians (2019)

Contact Information

Department of Emergency Medicine
759 Chestnut Street
Springfield, MA 01199

(Updated July 2022)