You are using an older version of Internet Explorer that is not supported on this site. Please upgrade for the best experience.

Two Emergency Medicine physicians honored

June 10, 2015

Two Baystate Medical Center Emergency Medicine physicians were honored recently by the Massachusetts College of Emergency Physicians (MACEP) for advancing excellence in emergency care.

Excellence in their field

Dr. Sunny Mani Shukla, Emergency Medicine Administrative Fellowship, received the Emergency Medicine Fellow of the Year award and Dr. Lauren Westafer, Chief Resident of the Emergency Medicine Residency, received the Emergency Medicine Resident of the Year award during MACEP’s Annual Meeting held on May 20 at the Massachusetts Medical Society Conference Center in Waltham.

The Emergency Medicine Resident and Fellow of the Year awards recognize and honor an outstanding emergency medicine resident and emergency medicine fellow in Massachusetts, whose combination of clinical promise, leadership, ability to think outside the box, and commitment to their patients and emergency medicine separate them from others.

Dr. Lauren Westafer

Dr. Westafer earned her Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine and Master of Public Health degrees from Nova Southeastern University College of Osteopathic Medicine in Fort Lauderdale, FL.

Blogging on emergency medicine even before her residency, today she co-hosts an educational podcast (FOAMCast) addressing some of the “bread and butter” topics that are often ignored in other podcasts. She frequently tweets and blogs about important and interesting articles, making sure to keep her colleagues up-to-date on the latest in emergency medicine.

Dr. Westafer regularly takes on additional tasks as part of her residency, including providing statistical mini-lectures to colleagues. An adjunct assistant professor at Western New England University College of Pharmacy, she lectures pharmacy students preparing to enter the field of medicine. She has also been recognized as a Knowledge to Action Fellow by the Emergency Medicine Resident’s Association (EMRA) and the New York Academy of Medicine.

“Dr. Westafer is an incredibly talented physician with the potential to contribute greatly to academic emergency medicine. Her ability to review the current literature and distill it into an easily digestible format is incredibly valuable and will make her a strong contributor in the future,” said Dr. Niels Rathlev, chair, Department of Emergency Medicine.

Dr. Sunny Mani Shukla

Dr. Shukla, who received his medical degree from Manipal University in Karnataka, India, completed a residency in emergency medicine at Baystate.

He participated in MACEP’s Leadership & Advocacy Fellowship Program in 2014, and recently designed Baystate’s Emergency Department’s Administrative Fellowship.

Dr. Shukla was also selected by the Emergency Medicine Residents’ Association as one of 10 residents nationwide to receive an EDDA Scholarship. The scholarship provides financial assistance to resident leaders to attend the Emergency Department Directors Academy, designed to help them develop leadership skills that will advance their careers, their local emergency departments, and the specialty of emergency medicine.

Dr. Shukla was also the second place winner in the Emergency Medicine Physicians’ 3rd Annual Video Challenge, allowing residents to show off their residency program in a creative way.

As secretary/newsletter editor for the American College of Emergency Physicians’ Emergency Medicine Practice Management and Health Policy Section, Dr. Shukla also uses his talents to mentor residents in writing scholarly articles.

He also provides emergency care at Baystate Franklin Medical Center in Greenfield.

“Dr. Shukla has tremendous potential as a future leader in healthcare. He has a particular interest in administrative matters and is currently obtaining his MBA at UMass Amherst. He is an active contributor to important patient care and safety initiatives at Baystate Health,” said Dr. Rathlev.

The Massachusetts College of Emergency Physicians is dedicated to advancing excellence in emergency care, and advocating for emergency physician, their patients and the health of the community.