You are using an older version of Internet Explorer that is not supported on this site. Please upgrade for the best experience.

Your Learning Community - Brightwood House

Brightwood Learning Community House

Brightwood House, the Learning Community for PURCH Track students, is your social and academic home throughout medical school.

You will be assigned a Brightwood house mentor who will provide guidance on many issues ranging from academic achievement, career guidance, professional development, and personal support.

It is within your learning community that you learn the foundational skills of being a competent physician through the pivotal Doctoring and Clinical Skills course.

Brightwood House, comprising four faculty mentors and about 100 students, is based at the Baystate campus but has community spaces on both campuses.

More about Learning Communities on the UMMS website.

Learning Community Mentors

Doctoring and Clinical Skills-1 Faculty

Capstone Affiliate

Sarah Perez McAdoo, MD, MPH

Graduate Education

  • Albert Einstein College of Medicine of Yeshiva University, 2001
  • MPH, Harvard School of Public Health, 2006
  • Commonwealth Fund Harvard University Fellowship in Minority Health Policy, 2006

Research/Clinical Interests

Dr. McAdoo is a public health physician involved in public policy, systems change, community building, and creating partnerships to improve adolescent health outcomes. She is the Co-Founder of the Youth Empowerment Adolescent Health Network (YEAH! Network).

More about the Capstone Scholarship and Discovery course at PURCH

Specialty Advisors

Department Specialty Advisor
Salima Powers email, Ravi Alluri email
(no observerships)
Emily Westemail
Emergency Medicine Ben Osborne email, Liza Smithemail
Family Medicine Robert.Baldor email, Cortney Haynes email
Geriatrics Sik Kim Ang email
Hospital Medicine Christine Bryson email, Stephen Ryzewicz email
IM-Primary Care Stephen Ryzewicz email
IM-Cardiology Amir Lotfi email, Quinn Pack email
Michele Gortakowski email
IM-Gastroenterology Jacob Alexanderemail
(no observerships)
Nageshwar Jonnalagadda email
IM-Infectious Diseases
Armando Paez email; Jacob Smith email
IM-Nephrology Dennis DiCampli email
IM-Pulmonary Medicine/Critical Care
Fahad Alroumi email
Maura Munoz email


Heydi Flores Podaderaemail
Dennis Oh email
Obstetrics & Gynecology Carolyn Delk email, James Gebhardt email
Occupational Medicine
Maria Michas 
Brian Bredvik email
Lydia Parzych email
Otolaryngology Jacquelyn Reilly email
Palliative Medicine Christina Fitch email , Sik Kim Ang email
Pathology Lisa Cole email, Roxanne Florence email
Pediatrics (General) Hilary Branch email
Pediatrics (Subspecialties) Ian Goodman email (EM), Ruben Vaidya email (Neonatology), Stephen Boos email (Child Abuse)
Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation Barry Rodstein email, Julio Martinez-Silvestrini email
Preventive Medicine
Quinn Pack email
Psychiatry Stephanie Daly email
Radiation Oncology
Michael Yunes email
Thomas Anderson email
Surgery Reginald Alouidor email, George Orthopoulos email
Lenny Shaker email; Michael Zavaski email
Vascular Surgery
Matt Kronick email

Residency Application Advisors


Brian C. Martin, Program Director email
Maria Lopez, Program Administrator email

Emergency Medicine

Adam Kellogg, Program Director email
Lucienne Lutfy-Clayton, Associate Program Director email
Liza Smith, Clerkship Director email

Family Medicine

Chandra Hartman, Program Director email
Nathan Macedo, Faculty email

Internal Medicine

Reham Shabaan, Program Director email
Christine Bryson, Associate Program Director email
Kathryn Jobbins, Associate Program Director email
Yesenia Greeff, Assistant Program Director email
Riffat Sabir, Assistant Program Director email


Sharon Wretzel, Program Director email
Maura Muñoz, Associate Program Director email


Heather Sankey, Chair & Program Director email
Carolyn Delk, Associate Program Director email
Kimberly Marakovitz, Faculty email


Rahul Jawale, Faculty email
Ashraf Khan, Chair email
James Mueller, Program Director email


Steven Fischel, Program Director email
John Hopkins, Associate Program Director email
Sonia Riyaz, Faculty email


Martha Lopez, Associate Program Director email
Christopher Mudge, Faculty email


Neal Seymour, Program Director email
David B. Tashjian, Associate Program Director email

House Librarians

  • Catherine Carr, MLIS
    Education and Clinical Services Librarian at the Lamar Soutter Library, University of Massachusetts Medical School in Worcester.
  • Bridget Gunn, MSLS (at the Baystate campus)
    Information and Knowledge Services Librarian, Health Sciences Library, University of Massachusetts Medical School-Baystate campus in Springfield.