You are using an older version of Internet Explorer that is not supported on this site. Please upgrade for the best experience.

Faculty Highlights

We greatly value our faculty's scholarly contributions and are proud to honor their accomplishments.

January 2020

Thomas Lincoln, MD

Dr. Thomas LincolnThe Massachusetts Chapter of the American College of Physicians (ACP) recently honored physician members at their Annual Meeting on November 9th in Waltham, MA. Thomas Lincoln, MD, Associate Professor of Medicine at University of Massachusetts Medical School-Baystate, received the Humanism in Medicine Award in recognition of his work in correctional medicine. Elisa Choi, MD, FACP, FIDSA, Governor of the Massachusetts Chapter of ACP, presented the award for Dr. Lincoln’s “pioneering the way for a marginalized population to receive access to outstanding care in the most complex of situations; incarceration.” The Humanism in Medicine Award was first presented in 2015, recognizing outstanding dedication and service to patients and underserved populations.

Dr. Lincoln and Baystate Health colleagues work with the Hampden County Correctional Center in a community-integrated program that became a national model for correctional health care and has sustained for 25 years.

Read more about this accomplishment in the ACP Massachusetts Chapter Governor’s December 2019 newsletter.

Katie Jobbins, DO, MS, FACP

incontentjobbins250x250Congratulations to Katie Jobbins, DO, MS, FACP, Assistant Professor of Medicine and Associate Program Director of the Internal Medicine Residency Program at UMMS-Baystate, for being selected as a 2019 Inspiration Award honoree by the American Medical Association’s Women Physicians Section last month. This national award honors physicians who have helped develop the professional careers of colleagues, residents, and students. Amanda Whitehouse, a 3rd year medical student in UMMS-Baystate’s PURCH program, nominated Dr. Jobbins.

In her nomination letter, Ms. Whitehouse stated: “I have had the privilege of working with Dr. Jobbins for the past two years for our longitudinal preceptor program. She has had an incredibly positive impact on my learning experience and life. She embodies the physician I want to be in the future. She cares deeply for her patients as evidenced by patients switching health care systems when she recently moved to a new position. She is invested in the education of future physicians. I have had the privilege from learning from her but I know of many other students, residents and colleagues of hers that benefit from her commitment to teaching. She is an incredible asset…and I look forward to continue learning from her!”

Dr. Jobbins is proud to represent UMMS-Baystate amongst such an amazing group of physicians. “This award truly showcases the importance of education, self-reflection and feedback and how inspiring young physicians moves the field of medicine forward,” says Dr. Jobbins.

Faculty Highlights 2019 - A Year in Review

Faculty Highlights  A Year in Review 2019 coverThe faculty at UMass Medical School-Baystate achieved many national-level recognitions in 2019. In “Faculty Highlights 2019 – A Year in Review,” we have compiled examples of their peer-reviewed publications, presentations, grants, and awards. We congratulate them on their outstanding accomplishments! Click here to read.



 > Faculty Highlights Archive