You are using an older version of Internet Explorer that is not supported on this site. Please upgrade for the best experience.

Department of Surgery, UMass Chan Medical School - Baystate


UMass Medical School-Baystate logo759 Chestnut Street
Springfield, MA 01199
Phone: 413-794-5165


Division Chiefs

Education Programs



4th Year Electives for Medical Students

  • Breast Surgery
  • Cardiac Surgery
  • Colorectal Surgery
  • General Surgery Acting Internship
  • Neurosurgery Subinternship
  • Pediatric Surgery Acting Internship
  • Surgical Intensive Care Unit
  • Surgical Oncology Acting Internship
  • Trauma Surgery Acting Internship

Medical Student Core Clerkship

  • Surgery

Simulation Education

The Baystate Simulation Center and Goldberg Surgical Skills Lab, accredited by the American College of Surgeons as a Level 1 comprehensive education institute, are under the direction of the Department of Surgery.

Scholarly Activity


Some of the research activities within the department include:

  • Breast Cancer
  • Cancer Molecular Biology
  • Geographic Information System in Healthcare
  • Pediatric Surgery Clinical Research
  • Minimally Invasive Instrument Development
  • Diabetes
  • Hypothyroidism
  • N.O.T.E.S. (Natural Orifice Transluminal Endoscopic Surgery)
  • Surgery Outcomes
  • Transplant Research
  • Virtual Reality Simulation Based Training
  • Performance Assessment Methodology


View recent Department of Surgery publications in the Scholarly Commons database.

Non-Clinical Faculty

Clinical Faculty