You are using an older version of Internet Explorer that is not supported on this site. Please upgrade for the best experience.

Special Events


Physician Leadership Academy (PLA) Graduation Ceremony and Reception

Two physicians holding up graduation plaquesOn June 9, 2023, UMass Chan Medical School-Baystate’s Office of Faculty Affairs hosted the Physician Leadership Academy (PLA) graduation ceremony and reception at The Delaney House in Holyoke. The PLA is a biennial leadership development program for emerging institutional leaders at Baystate Health. Participants are selected through a highly competitive process and attend 80 hours of in-person leadership criterium over four and a half months.

The ceremony included opening remarks by Andrew Artenstein, MD, and Amy Gottlieb, MD. Dr. Artenstein congratulated the group and emphasized the importance of leadership development for the health system's success. In addition to the PLA graduates and their special guests, PLA Team Coaches, Department Chairs, and Service Line Leaders joined the festivities.

Click here to view the 2023 PLA Alumni.


Baystate Women in Medicine and Science (BWIMS) Impact Award Celebration - September 20th, 2022

Screenshots of a Zoom Conference
2021 & 2022 Impact Award Winners. Holly S. Mason, MD (left), and Kristina Z. Kramer, MD (right).
Not Pictured: Vandita Johari, MD, and Mara T. Slawsky, MD, PhD

On the evening of September 20th, BWIMS held its annual meeting and impact award celebration virtually via Zoom. The event honored Vandita Johari, MD, Department of Pathology; Kristina Z. Kramer, MD, Department of Surgery; Holly S. Mason, MD, Department of Surgery; and Mara T. Slawsky, MD, PhD, Department of Medicine; recipients of the 2021 & 2022 BWIMS Impact Award.

Portrait of Dr. Vandita Johari

View Dr. Vandita Johari's brief remarks 

Portrait of Dr. Kristina Kramer

View Dr. Kristina Kramer's brief remarks

Portrait of Dr. Holly Mason

View Dr. Holly Mason's brief remarks 

Portrait of Dr. Mara Slawsky

View Dr. Mara Slawsky's brief remarks 


Baystate Women in Medicine and Science (BWIMS) Impact Award Celebration - September 24th, 2020

2020 Impact Award Winners. Sarah Haessler, MD, MS (left), and Mihaela Stefan, MD, PhD (right)

On the evening of September 24th BWIMS held its annual meeting and award celebration virtually via WebEx. The event honored Sarah Haessler, MD, MS and Mihaela Stefan, MD, PhD, recipients of the inaugural Baystate Women in Medicine and Science Impact Award. Andrew W. Artenstein, MD, Chief Physician Executive at Baystate Health, offered remarks of congratulations and commended the award winners on their myriad achievements.


Toast the Professors event honors senior faculty - July 31, 2019

Prof pins 45

“Like it or not, we are living through a revolution of how health care is delivered. The communities we serve expect us to advance safety and quality, while improving convenience and lowering cost. It is not an easy assignment, but I am pleased that so many of you have chosen to link the trajectory of your academic careers to designing and evaluating new approaches to care. Your work on learning and improvement is at the center of what makes Baystate Health a leader in innovation and clinical excellence. I thank you from the bottom of my heart for all you do.” - Mark A. Keroack, MD, MPH, President & CEO of Baystate Health, Professor of Medicine at UMass Chan Medical School-Baystate

On the evening of July 31st, Andrew Artenstein, MD, and UMass Chan Medical School-Baystate’s Office of Faculty Affairs hosted the inaugural Toast the Professors celebration at Twin Hills Country Club in Longmeadow. The event recognized individuals who are full professors. Academic ranks, in order of demonstrated achievement, are Instructor, Assistant Professor, Associate Professor, and Professor. Professor designation requires at least a national reputation in one’s field.

The program included featured remarks by Mark Keroack, MD, MPH, Andrew Artenstein, MD, and Amy Gottlieb, MD. Dr. Keroack congratulated the group and reflected on the importance of senior leaders to the success of the health system. Dr. Artenstein discussed the importance of academic advancement, especially as our regional campus in western Massachusetts continues to grow. Dr. Gottlieb thanked the Professors for inspiring, mentoring, and guiding our healthcare workforce daily. Each of the 45 Professors was awarded a gold pin to wear on his or her Baystate badge to symbolize their senior faculty rank.

In addition to the Professors and their special guests, members of the President’s Cabinet, Physician Leadership Team (PLT), and Department Chairs and Service Line Leaders joined the festivities. The Office of Faculty Affairs intends to host this event annually. A listing of our Professors is below:

1. Richard B. Alexander, MD
2. Andrew W. Artenstein, MD
3. Charlotte M. Boney, MD
4. Gregory L. Braden, MD
5. Paula K. Braverman, MD
6. Maura J. Brennan, MD
7. Martin I. Broder, MD
8. Richard B. Brown, MD
9. Lewis M. Cohen, MD
10. Neil R. Connelly, MD
11. Steven M. Dunn, MD
12. Richard M. Engelman, MD
13. Edward Feldmann, MD
14. Peter D. Friedmann, MD, MPH
15. David L. Gang, MD
16. Michael J. Germain, MD
17. Amy S. Gottlieb, MD
18. George Hartnell, MD
19. Kevin T. Hinchey, MD
20. Nicolas Jabbour, MD
21. Bertrand Janne d'Othee, MD, MPH, MBA
22. Mark A. Keroack, MD, MPH
23. Ashraf Khan, MD
24. Aaron D. Kugelmass, MD
25. Peter K. Lindenauer, MD, MSc, MHM
26. Timothy J. Mader, MD
27. Grace Makari-Judson, MD
28. Wilson C. Mertens, MD, MSBA
29. Kevin P. Moriarty, MD
30. Christopher N. Otis, MD
31. Niels K. Rathlev, MD
32. Edward O. Reiter, MD
33. John R. Romanelli, MD
34. Heather Z. Sankey, MD, MEd
35. Barry D. Sarvet, MD
36. Alan Schneyer, PhD
37. Thomas Schwann, MD, MBA
38. Marc J. Schweiger, MD
39. Neal E. Seymour, MD
40. Cynthia K. Sites, MD
41. Daniel J. Skiest, MD
42. Jay S. Steingrub, MD
43. Abraham Thomas, MD, MPH
44. Paul F. Visintainer, PhD
45. Stephen M. Wittenberg, MD

Visiting Professor Carolyn C. Meltzer, MD, FACR - March 6, 2019

Carolyn C. Meltzer, MD, William P. Timmie Professor and Chair of Radiology & Imaging Sciences, Executive Associate Dean, Faculty Academic Advancement, Leadership & Inclusion, and Associate Dean for Research at Emory University School of Medicine spoke to the Physician Leadership Team (PLT) as part of the Office of Faculty Affairs' inaugural Visiting Professorship. Her talk was entitled "Leadership in Times of Change: Investing in a Talent Workforce". Dr. Meltzer is a nationally recognized expert in leadership development and mentorship.

meltzer photo strip

Above, from left to right: Amy S. Gottlieb, MD, FACP, Chief Faculty Development Officer, Baystate Health, Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs, UMass Chan Medical School-Baystate; Richard Hicks, MD, FACR, Chair of the Department of Radiology; and visiting professor Carolyn C. Meltzer, MD, FACR.