You are using an older version of Internet Explorer that is not supported on this site. Please upgrade for the best experience.

Coronavirus (COVID-19): check here for testing information, visitor policy, service changes, and more.

Neal E. Seymour, MD

Department of Surgery
Division of General Surgery

Institutional Leadership Roles

  • Medical Director, Baystate Simulation Center-Goldberg Surgical Skills Lab
  • Program Director, Surgery Residency,
    University of Massachusetts Medical School-Baystate
  • Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs, Department of Surgery,
    University of Massachusetts Medical School-Baystate
  • Division Chief, General Surgery, Department of Surgery

Academic Appointment

  • Professor of Surgery, University of Massachusetts Medical School-Baystate
  • Adjunct Professor of Surgery, Tufts University School of Medicine

Education and Training

  • State University of New York Health Science Center, Brooklyn, NY
    • Research Fellowship (1986-1988)
    • General Surgery Residency (1984-1991)
  • Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons, New York, NY
    M.D. (1980-1984)

Scholarly Foci

  • Surgical education research
  • Medical simulation training and research
  • Minimally invasive surgical skills training and assessment

Scholarly Activity

View a list of Dr. Seymour's publications in the Scholarly Commons repository.

Professional Societies and Leadership Roles

  • Society of American Gastrointestinal and Endoscopic Surgeons
    • Fundamentals of Laparoscopic Surgery (FLS) Committee
      • Co-Chair (2017-present)
    • FLS and FES Test Center Accreditation Committee
      • Chair (2017-present)
  • Association of Program Directors in Surgery
    • Board of Directors
      • Member (2012-2019)
    • Research Committee
      • Member (2016-present)
  • American College of Surgeons, Massachusetts Chapter
    • Chapter Council
      • Member (2017-present)
    • Program Committee
      • Chair (2019-2020)

Significant Honors and Awards (Limit 5)

  • Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society (1990)
  • Fellow, American College of Surgeons (1994)
  • Career Development Fellowship, Society for Surgery of the Alimentary Tract (1992-1994)
  • Associate Examiner, American Board of Surgery Certifying Examination (2001, 2003, 2011)
  • New England Surgical Society Healthcare Policy Scholarship, American College of Surgeons (2015-2016)

Contact Information

Department of Surgery
759 Chestnut Street
Springfield, MA 01199