You are using an older version of Internet Explorer that is not supported on this site. Please upgrade for the best experience.

Wesson Building roadway entrance closed at Baystate Medical Center Sept. 27, 28, and 30. Enter through the Emergency roadway entrance for access.

Barry D. Sarvet, MD

Department of Psychiatry

Institutional Leadership Roles

  • Chair, Department of Psychiatry at UMass Chan Medical School-Baystate

Academic Appointment

  • Professor of Psychiatry at UMass Chan Medical School-Baystate
  • Professor of Healthcare Delivery and Population Sciences at UMass Chan Medical School-Baystate

Education and Training

  • Yale University Child Study Center, New Haven, CT
    Fellowship, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry  (1991-1993)
  • Yale University School of Medicine, New Haven, CT
    Residency, General Psychiatry (1987-1991)
  • Northwestern University Medical School, Chicago, IL
    M.D. (1987)
  • Northwestern University College of Arts and Sciences, Evanston, IL
    B.S., Honors Program in Medical Education (1984)

Scholarly Foci

  • Mental health services research
  • Integration of mental health services within healthcare systems
  • Dissemination of trauma-informed mental health services for children
  • Childhood Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder 

Scholarly Activity

View a list of Dr. Sarvet's publications in the Scholarly Commons repository.

Professional Societies and Leadership Roles (Limit 5)

  • American Psychiatric Association    
    • Scientific Program Committee
      • Member (2014-present)
    • Work Group on Integrated Care
      • Member (2014-present)
    • Board of Trustees Work Group on Healthcare Reform
      • Member (2014-present)
    • Member (1988-present)
  • Group for the Advancement of Psychiatry
    • Member (2012-present)
    • Committee on Children
      • Co-Chair (2012-present)
  • Massachusetts Psychiatric Society
    • Member (1999-present)
  • MA Chapter of American Academy of Pediatrics
    • Member (1999-present)
    • Children's Mental Health Task Force
      • Co-Chair (1999-present)
  • American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry    
    • Committee on Healthcare Access and Economics
      • Co-Chair (1999-present)
    • Member (1992-present)

Significant Awards and Honors (Limit 5)

  • Outstanding Psychiatrist Award, Public Sector Psychiatry, MA Psychiatric Society (2018)
  • Simon Wile Leadership Award in Consultation Psychiatry, American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (2014)
  • Distinguished Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association (2004-2011, 2013)
  • Distinguished Fellow of the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (2013)
  • Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Society (1987-present)

Academic Office Contact Information

759 Chestnut Street, Room WG703
Springfield, MA 01199

(Updated March 2023)