You are using an older version of Internet Explorer that is not supported on this site. Please upgrade for the best experience.

Nikhil Thakkar, MD, FASA

thakkarnikhilDepartment of Anesthesiology
Division of Post Anesthesia Care Unit

Departmental/Divisional Leadership Roles

  • Division Chief, Post Anesthesia Care Unit, Department of Anesthesiology
  • Director, Anesthesia Quality Improvement Committee, Baystate Medical Center

Academic Appointment

  • Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology at UMass Chan Medical School-Baystate

Education and Training

  • Tufts University School of Medicine/Baystate, Springfield, MA
    • Fellowship, Critical Care Anesthesiology (2003-2004)
    • Chief Resident, Department of Anesthesiology (2002)
    • Residency, Anesthesiology (2000-2003)
  • B.J. Medical College, Gujarat University, Ahmedabad, India
    Residency, Anesthesiology (1990-1993)
  • Smt. NHL Municipal Medical College, Gujarat University, Ahmedabad, India
    • Rotating Internship (1989-1990)
    • M.B.B.S. (1984-1989)

Scholarly Foci

  • Quality improvement
  • Pediatric anesthesia

Scholarly Activity

View a list of Dr. Thakkar's publications in the Scholarly Commons repository.

Professional Societies and Leadership Roles

  • American Society of Anesthesiologists
    • Committee on Standards and Practice Parameters
      • Member (2021-present)
    • Committee on Physician Well Being
      • Member (2021-present)
    • Occupational Health Committee
      • Member (2017-present)
    • Pediatric Anesthesia Committee
      • Member (2017-2019)
  • Massachusetts Society of Anesthesiology
    • MSA Delegate to American Society of Anesthesiologists (2017-present)
    • Committee on Ethical Practice and Standards of Care
      • Member (2017-present)
    • Publication Committee
      • Chair (2015-present)
    • Executive Committee Member (2012-present)
    • President (2018-2019)
    • President-Elect (2017-2018)
  • Massachusetts Medical Society
    • Quality of Medical Practices Committee
      • Advisor (2016-present)
    • Hampden District Medical Society
      • Executive Committee Member (2014-present)
      • President (2017-2018)

Significant Honors and Awards

  • Fellow, American Society of Anesthesiologists (2018)

Contact Information

Department of Anesthesiology
759 Chestnut Street
Springfield, MA 01199

(Updated October 2022)