You are using an older version of Internet Explorer that is not supported on this site. Please upgrade for the best experience.

Neal Hadro, MD, FACS

Department of Surgery
Division of Vascular Surgery

Departmental/Divisional Leadership Roles

  • Division Chief, Vascular Surgery, Department of Surgery
  • Division Chief (Interim), Cardiac Surgery, Department of Surgery
  • Associate Vice President, Heart and Vascular Program at Baystate Medical Center

Academic Appointment

  • Assistant Professor of Surgery at UMass Chan Medical School-Baystate

Education and Training

  • New York Presbyterian Hospital, New York, NY
    Fellowship, Endovascular Surgery (2003)
  • Walter Reed Army Medical Center, Washington, DC
    • Fellowship, Peripheral Vascular Surgery (1998-2000)
    • Residency, General Surgery (1992-1996)
    • Internship, Categorical Surgery (1990-1991)
  • Tufts University School of Medicine, Boston, MA
    M.D. (1986-1990)
  • College of the Holy Cross, Worcester, MA
    B.A., Biology (1982-1986)

Scholarly Activity

View a list of Dr. Hadro's publications in the Scholarly Commons repository.

Professional Societies and Leadership Roles

  • Society for Vascular Surgery
    • Member (2016-present)
  • Society of Military Vascular Surgeons
    • Member (1996-present)

Significant Honors and Awards (Limit 5)

  • Baystate Health Leadership Institute, Class of 2016 (2016)
  • Resident Award for Faculty Teacher of the Year, Department of Surgery, Baystate Medical Center (2014)
  • Military Award for U.S. Army Health Professionals Scholarship Award, Army Service Ribbon, National Defense Service Ribbion, Distinguised Unit Award, Two Army Commendation medals, Honorable Discharge from US Army with rank of Lieutenant Colonel (2002)
  • Juan d'Avis Award for Outstanding Surgical Fellow, Walter Reed Army Medical Center (1999-2000)
  • Fellow, American College of Surgeons (1996-present)

Contact Information

Department of Surgery
Division of Vascular Surgery
3500 Main Street
Springfield, MA 01199

(Updated April 2022)