You are using an older version of Internet Explorer that is not supported on this site. Please upgrade for the best experience.

Heather Z. Sankey, MD, MEd

Department of Obstetrics-Gynecology
Division of General Obstetrics and Gynecology

Institutional Leadership Roles

  • Ronald T. Burkman Endowed Chair of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Department of Obstetrics-Gynecology at UMass Chan Medical School – Baystate

Academic Appointment

  • Professor of Obstetrics-Gynecology at UMass Chan Medical School – Baystate
  • Adjunct Professor of Obstetrics-Gynecology at Tufts University School of Medicine

Education and Training

  • University of New England, Biddeford, ME
    M.Ed., Medical Education and Leadership (2015-2017)
  • Tufts University School of Medicine/Baystate, Springfield, MA
    Internship and Residency, Obstetrics-Gynecology (1988-1992)
  • Hahnemann University School of Medicine, Philadelphia, PA
    M.D. (1984-1988)
  • Vassar College, Poughkeepsie, NY
    A.B., Math/Computer Science (1980-1984)

Scholarly Foci

  • Medical education
  • Pregnancy and smoking cessation
  • Pregnancy and depression

Scholarly Activity

View a list of Dr. Sankey's publications in the Scholarly Commons repository.

Professional Societies and Leadership Roles (Limit 5)

  • Alliance of Independent Academic Medical Centers
    • Board of Governors
      • President (2022-2024)
    • Programming Committee
      • Member (2022-2024)
  • American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology
    • PROLOG Advisory Council 
      • Member (2021-2026)
    • MA ACOG Advisory Council
      • Member (2017-present)
    • Member (1991-present)
  • American Medical Society
    • Member (2014-present)   
  • American Association for Physician Leadership   
    • Member (1999-present)
  • Massachusetts Medical Society
    • Member (1992-present)

Significant Honors and Awards

  • ObGyn Resident Excellence in Teaching Recognition, Department of Obstetrics-Gynecology, Baystate Medical Center (2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2021, 2022)
  • Educational Achievement Star Award, University of Massachusetts Medical School (2018)
  • National Faculty Award, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, Council on Resident Education in Obstetrics and Gynecology (2008)
  • Fellow, American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology (1995)

Academic Office Contact Information

Department of Obstetrics-Gynecology
759 Chestnut Street
Springfield, MA 01199

(Updated January 2023)