You are using an older version of Internet Explorer that is not supported on this site. Please upgrade for the best experience.

Karin Johnson, MD

Portrait of Dr. Karin JohnsonDepartment of Neurology

Institutional Leadership Roles

  • Vice Chair for Academic Affairs, Department of Neurology at UMass Chan Medical School-Baystate
  • Medical Director, Baystate Regional Sleep Medicine Program
  • Facility Director
    • Baystate Medical Center Sleep Laboratory
    • Baystate Mary Lane Outpatient Center Sleep Laboratory
    • Baystate Franklin Medical Center Sleep Laboratory

Academic Appointment

  • Professor of Neurology at UMass Chan Medical School-Baystate
  • Professor of Healthcare Delivery & Population Sciences at UMass Chan Medical School-Baystate

Education and Training

  • Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA
    Fellowship, Sleep Medicine (2007-2008)
  • Brown University/Rhode Island Hospital, Providence, RI
    • Residency, Neurology (2004-2007)
    • Internship, Internal Medicine (2003-2004)
  • University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine, Chicago, IL
    M.D. (1999-2003)
  • Harvard University, Cambridge, MA
    B.A. (with honors), Biochemistry (1995-1999)

Scholarly Foci

  • Sleep medicine
  • Mild obstructive sleep apnea
  • Positive airway pressure technology
  • Inpatient sleep testing
  • Permanent standard time

Scholarly Activity

View a list of Dr. Johnson's publications in the Scholarly Commons repository.

Professional Societies and Leadership Roles    

  • Save Standard Time
    • Vice President (2023-present)
    • Board of Directors (2021-2022)
  • American Academy of Sleep Medicine
    • Advocacy Committee
      • Member (2022-present)
    • Hypopnea Scoring Rule Working Group
      • Member (2020-present)
    • Inpatient Sleep Disordered Breathing Guideline Task Force
      • Member (2020-present)
    • AHRQ Report Response Taskforce (2021-2022)
    • Payer Policy Review Committee
      • Member (2017-2018)
    • Member (2007-present)
  • American Academy of Neurology
    • Sleep Section Chair (2020-2025)
    • Member (2003-present)
  • Optimal NIV Medicare Access Promotion (ONMAP) Technical Expert Panel        
    • Member (2020-2021)

Significant Honors and Awards

  • Mark O. Hatfield Advocacy Award, American Academy of Sleep Medicine (2023)
  • Public Service Award, Sleep Research Society (2023)
  • Fellow, American Academy of Neurology (2021)
  • Fellow, American Academy of Sleep Medicine (2020)

Contact Information

Department of Neurology
759 Chestnut St.
Neurodiagnostic and Sleep Center, Wesson Ground
Springfield, MA 01199
Twitter: @drsleepykarin

(Updated February 2023)