You are using an older version of Internet Explorer that is not supported on this site. Please upgrade for the best experience.

Highlighting UMMS-Baystate faculty achievements: June - August 2020

September 23, 2020

The Office of Faculty Affairs at UMass Medical School-Baystate greatly values our faculty's scholarly contributions and are proud to honor their accomplishments. Below is a summary of recent activity:

Recent Academic Promotions

BrysonChristineDr. Tara CatanzanoSchlaug Gottfried smSchmelkin Ira smislamashequl1538172747

Congratulations to Christine Bryson, DO, promotion to Associate Professor of Medicine; Tara Marie Catanzano, MB, BCh, BAO LRCP & SI, promotion to Professor of Radiology; Gottfried Schlaug, MD, PhD, promotion to Professor of Neurology; Ira Schmelkin, MD, promotion to Associate Professor of Medicine; and Ashequl Islam, MBBS, MPH, promotion to Professor of Medicine.

See previous faculty promotions here.

Faculty Highlights

June 2020

Dr. Amir LotfiAmir Lotfi, MD

Congratulations to Amir Lofti, MD, FSCAI, Associate Professor of Medicine at University of Massachusetts Medical School-Baystate and interventional cardiologist at Baystate Health, who served as Chair of the writing group that recently published the Expert Consensus Statement on Out of Hospital Cardiac Arrest for the Society for Cardiovascular Angiography and Interventions (SCAI). Read the paper here.



Peter K. Lindenauer, MD, MSc, MHM and team

Congratulations to Peter K. Lindenauer, MD, MSc, MHM, Assistant Dean for Population Health and Professor of Medicine; Mihaela Stefan, MD, PhD, Associate Professor of Medicine; Tara C. Lagu, MD, MPH, Associate Professor of Medicine; Quinn R. Pack, MD, MSc, Associate Professor of Medicine; and Victor Pinto-Plata, MD, MA, Associate Professor of Medicine, on the publication of “Association Between Initiation of Pulmonary Rehabilitation After Hospitalization for COPD and 1-Year Survival Among Medicare Beneficiaries” in The Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) in May 2020. Read the abstract here.

jeannette wolfe 140x196Jeannette Wolfe, MD

The Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM) has honored Jeannette Wolfe, MD, Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine at UMMS-Baystate, with the Advancement of Women in Academic Emergency Medicine Award. SAEM Awards recognize excellence in emergency medicine, contributions improving the health of society, and academic achievements.


July 2020

Dr. Kelly TylerKelly M. Tyler, MD, FACS, FASCRS

Congratulations to Dr. Kelly Tyler, Associate Professor of Surgery at UMMS-Baystate, for her recent appointment to the Editorial Board of the Journal of Gastrointestinal Surgery (JOGS). Dr. Tyler will serve on the Editorial Board from June 2020 through June 2024.



August 2020

shaaban 140x196Reham Shaaban, DO

Congratulations to Reham Shaaban, DO, Assistant Professor of Medicine and Program Director of the Internal Medicine Residency Program at UMMS-Baystate, for her appointment to the Board of Directors for the Alliance of Independent Academic Medical Centers (AIAMC).


Find additional faculty achievements here.