You are using an older version of Internet Explorer that is not supported on this site. Please upgrade for the best experience.

BERST Awards Honor Great Teachers Throughout Baystate

June 25, 2020

Recognizing Teaching Happening Every Day in Every Department

Each year Baystate employees have the opportunity to honor co-workers who they feel shine as teachers—even if they don't have "educator" in their job title—by nominating them for teaching awards sponsored by BERST Academy.

2020 BERST Teaching Awards

This year the BERST Award Committee is recognizing 14 employees in three award categories.

Impact Award from Baystate Education Research & Scholarship of Teaching Impact Award

Michelle Whitney MSN, RN, CPN, CPAN

The Impact Award honors a single BERST Academy member who applied skills developed in BERST to create change or improve practice.

The honoree may have solved a problem, improved quality, improved practice, motivated colleagues, or created a project, program, workshop, or experience that benefited Baystate employees, learners, and/or patients. Efforts may have been within or outside of Baystate. 

Growth Award from Baystate Education Research & Scholarship of Teaching Award for Outstanding Growth in Education Scholarship

Stanlies D'Souza MD, FRCA, FCARCSI

Daniel Engelman, MD

Angela T. Sweeney, MEd, MA

The Outstanding Growth in Education Scholarship Award recognizes employees (any Baystate Health employee is eligible) who improved as scholars by increasing the number or quality of work submitted for a peer reviewed outlet in the past year.

Recipients have contributed to health professions education through the attempt at dissemination of teaching, research, mentoring, and/or other scholarship, such as innovative approaches to practice. The recipients demonstrate the scholarly approach to their lectures, seminars or workshops, and/or record of promoting their education scholarship on a regional or national level.

Teaching Award from Baystate Education Research & Scholarship of Teaching Outstanding Teaching Award

Margaret Beturne, RN

Megan Carr, PharmD, BCPS, BCGP

David Desilets, MD

Diane Dietzen, MD

Kimberly Favarato

Sharon Glazer, MPH

Harry Hoar III, MD

Vandita Johari, MD

Bob Oldenburg, MSW

Tonja Santos, CNM

The Outstanding Teacher Award recognizes employees (any Baystate Health employee is eligible) who actively and consistently foster learning around them.

Awardees encourage growth, create a safe space for mistakes, and demonstrate interest in the development of those around them.

Award recipients are normally honored at a ceremony where they receive individual recognition, a pin and certificate. The ceremony was cancelled this year due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

About BERST Acacdemy

BERST Teaching Academy is open to all Baystate Health employees. Members may not have education in their job descriptions or see themselves as "teachers," but are interested in actively fostering learning.

Current members include attendings, VPs, nurses, spiritual leaders, researchers, QI specialists, and others from 20 different health professions.

BERST Academy is part of the Healthcare Education Office.