You are using an older version of Internet Explorer that is not supported on this site. Please upgrade for the best experience.

Educator and Clinician Dr. Katie Jobbins Inspires Future Doctors

September 22, 2019
Dr. Katie Jobbins Pins 3rd Year PURCH Student Amanda Whitehouse at Her Transition Ceremony

Jobbins Receives 2019 American Medical Association Inspiration Award

Kathryn Jobbins DO, MS was honored with the 2019 American Medical Association Inspiration Award for making a difference in the professional life of others through her generous offering of time, wisdom, and support.

She was nominated by Amanda Whitehouse, third year medical student in the Population-based Urban and Rural Community Health track at the UMass Medical School Baystate campus.
(Photo: Amanda Whitehouse receiving the PURCH pin from Dr. Katie Jobbins at the ceremony marking her transition to clinical training)

An Incredible Asset for Educating Future Physicians

Learning that Dr. Jobbins had received the award, Whitehouse said, “I am thrilled for Katie. I feel so lucky to have a mentor where I feel like, if I have half the career she does, I would be elated and have a lot of career satisfaction...I love the way she has blended leadership, teaching and clinical practice."

Jobbins said she was shocked to to be chosen for this award, and very moved by her nomination.

"Many of the other honorees are people whom I would consider to be “superheroes” in the medical field," she said. "I am proud to represent UMMS-Baystate amongst such an amazing group of physicians."

Dr. Jobbins is Associate Program Director of the Internal Medicine Residency program, a Longitudinal Preceptor for PURCH, and an active member of the Baystate Education Research and Scholarship of Teaching Academy, where she is the subject of this month's BERST member spotlight.

"I look forward to continuing my work with medical students, residents and early career physicians here at Baystate Health," she added.

Jobbins is one of nearly 50 women and men who received the 2019 AMA Inspiration Award.

 > Read more about her award on the American Medical Association website