You are using an older version of Internet Explorer that is not supported on this site. Please upgrade for the best experience.

BWIMS Awards

Baystate Women in Medicine and Science (BWIMS) Impact Award

The BWIMS Impact Award honors women faculty or medical staff members who have demonstrated excellence in clinical care, education, research, and/or institutional service. This year, for the first time, one award will be reserved for a junior faculty member (instructor or assistant professor); the other award will remain open to all eligible nominees. The recipients will receive this honor at an event in September 2022. Please see below for eligibility criteria and nomination requirements.


  • Nominees must identify as women.
  • Nominees must be faculty or medical staff members at UMass Chan – Baystate or Baystate Health, respectively, for at least two years.
  • Nominees must have demonstrated significant influence in clinical care, education, research, and/or institutional service.
  • Nominees will be assessed based on impact and scope of their contributions, as well as their initiative and role in these undertakings.
  • Nominees cannot have received this award in the prior 5 years, but past candidates who did not win can be considered with updated letters of nomination.

Nomination Letters

Questions about BWIMS Impact Award?

Please direct all inquiries to Drs. Yesenia Greeff
( or
Rebecca Barron (
BWIMS Impact Award Committee Co-Chairs.

Each candidate must have at least two distinct letters of nomination to be considered for an award. To nominate an individual for an award, please follow the guidelines below:

  • Letters should be no more than 500 words each.
  • Letters should include the full name and title of the nominee, and name, title, email address, and phone number of the nominator (no more than two nominators per letter).     
  • Letters should comment specifically on achievements that support the nomination and provide details about the role the nominee played, initiative taken, and the scope and impact of those achievements.

Please submit nomination letters (together or separately) to Anne Drummey, BA, Executive Assistant to the Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs in the Office of Faculty Affairs at UMass Chan-Baystate at by May 27, 2022.

(updated April 2022)

Previous Awardees

2021 & 2022 awardees will be announced soon.


Haessler_sSarah D. Haessler, MD, MS

  • Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs, Department of Medicine
  • Hospital Epidemiologist, Baystate Health
  • Associate Professor of Medicine, UMass Chan Medical School – Baystate


Stefan Mihaela smMihaela S. Stefan, MD, PhD

  • Associate Director for Implementation Science, Institute for Healthcare Delivery and Population Science
  • Director, Perioperative Care Program, Baystate Medical Center
  • Director, Quality Assessment, Division of Healthcare Quality
  • Associate Professor of Medicine, UMass Chan Medical School – Baystate