You are using an older version of Internet Explorer that is not supported on this site. Please upgrade for the best experience.

Brightwood House - Your Learning Community

Brightwood House Learning Community LogoBrightwood House, the Learning Community for all PURCH students, is based at the Baystate campus but has community spaces on both campuses.

With six faculty mentors and about 100 students, it is an especially close group.

Your Learning Community Mentors

Brightwood House Learning Community Mentors
Photo: (L to R) Sam Borden, Jackie Wu, Beth Eagleson, Eric Churchill. Missing are Rohini Harvey,
Molly Senn-McNally

Samuel Borden, MDClasses of 2024, 2023

Eric Churchill, MD, MPH - Head of House: Classes of 2026, 2025, 2024, 2023

Elizabeth Eagleson, MD: Classes of 2024, 2023

Rohini Harvey, MD: Classes of 2026, 2025

Molly Senn-McNally, MD: Classes of 2026, 2025

Jacqueline Wu, MD: Classes of 2026, 2025, 2024, 2023

Capstone Affiliate

Dr Sarah Perez-McAdooSarah Perez McAdoo, MD, MPH, Director of Health Equity Education and Practice, UMass Chan Medical School-Baystate 

Graduate Education

  • Albert Einstein College of Medicine of Yeshiva University, 2001
  • MPH, Harvard School of Public Health, 2006
  • Commonwealth Fund Harvard University Fellowship in Minority Health Policy, 2006

Research/Clinical Interests

Dr. McAdoo is a public health physician involved in public policy, systems change, community building, and creating partnerships to improve adolescent health outcomes. She is the Co-Founder of the Youth Empowerment Adolescent Health Network (YEAH! Network).

Director of Student Affairs, PURCH Track

Eric Churchill, MD, MPH

House Librarians

Catherine Carr, MLIS
Lamar Soutter Library, UMass Chan Medical School, Worcester.

Bridget Gunn, MSLS
Health Sciences Library, UMass Chan-Baystate, Springfield.

Faculty and Advisors

Early Clinical Learning Faculty

Nadia Villarroel, MD, Course Director

Rebecca Barron, MD, MPH

Kevin Hinchey, MD

Harry Hoar, MD

Reva Kleppel, MSW, MPH

Kristy Peterson, LCCE

Durane Walker, MD

Specialty Advisors

Department Specialty Advisor
Salima Powers email, Ravi Alluri email
(no observerships)
Emily Westemail
Emergency Medicine Liza Smithemail
Family Medicine Robert.Baldor email, Cortney Haynes email
Geriatrics TBD
Hospital Medicine Christine Bryson email, Stephen Ryzewicz email, Alexander Roseman email
IM-Primary Care Stephen Ryzewicz email
IM-Cardiology Amir Lotfi email, Quinn Pack email
Michele Gortakowski email
IM-Gastroenterology Jacob Alexanderemail
(no observerships)
Nageshwar Jonnalagadda email
IM-Infectious Diseases
Armando Paez email, Jacob Smith email
IM-Nephrology Dennis DiCampli email
IM-Pulmonary Medicine/Critical Care
Maura Munoz email, Alexander Roseman email


Heydi Flores Podaderaemail
Dennis Oh email
Obstetrics & Gynecology Carolyn Delk email, James Gebhardt email
Occupational Medicine
Maria Michas 
Brian Bredvik email
Lydia Parzych email
Otolaryngology Jacquelyn Reilly email
Palliative Medicine Yael Tarshich email, Emily Zametkin email
Pathology Lisa Cole email, Roxanne Florence email
Pediatrics (General) Hilary Branch email,  Alexander Roseman email (Hospital Medicine)
Pediatrics (Subspecialties) Ian Goodman email (EM), Ruben Vaidya email (Neonatology), Stephen Boos email (Child Abuse)
Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation Barry Rodstein email, Julio Martinez-Silvestrini email
Preventive Medicine
Quinn Pack email
Psychiatry Stephanie Daly email
Radiation Oncology
Michael Yunes email
Thomas Anderson email
Surgery Reginald Alouidor email, George Orthopoulos email
Lenny Shaker email; Michael Zavaski email
Vascular Surgery
Matt Kronick email

Residency Application Advisors


Brian C. Martin, Program Director email
Maria Lopez, Program Administrator email

Emergency Medicine

Adam Kellogg, Program Director email
Lucienne Lutfy-Clayton, Associate Program Director email
Liza Smith, Clerkship Director email

Family Medicine

Chandra Hartman, Program Director email
Nathan Macedo, Faculty email

Internal Medicine

Riffat Sabir, Program Director email
Christine Bryson, Associate Program Director email
Kathryn Jobbins, Associate Program Director email
Yesenia Greeff, Assistant Program Director email


Sharon Wretzel, Program Director email
Maura Muñoz, Associate Program Director email


Jacqueline Kates, Program Director email
Carolyn Delk, Associate Program Director email
Kimberly Marakovitz, Faculty email


Rahul Jawale, Faculty email
Ashraf Khan, Chair email
James Mueller, Program Director email


Steven Fischel, Program Director email
John Hopkins, Associate Program Director email
Sonia Riyaz, Faculty email


Martha Lopez, Associate Program Director email
Christopher Mudge, Faculty email


Neal Seymour, Program Director email
David B. Tashjian, Associate Program Director email