You are using an older version of Internet Explorer that is not supported on this site. Please upgrade for the best experience.

Department of Surgery, UMMS-Baystate


UMMS-Baystate logo759 Chestnut Street
Springfield,  MA 01199
phone: 413-794-5165

UMass Medical School-Worcester

Department of Surgery website

Education Programs



4th Year Electives for Medical Students

Scholarly Activity


Some of the research activities within the department include:

  • Breast Cancer
  • Cancer Molecular Biology
  • Geographic Information System in Healthcare
  • Pediatric Surgery Clinical Research
  • Minimally Invasive Instrument Development
  • Diabetes
  • Hypothyroidism
  • N.O.T.E.S. (Natural Orifice Transluminal Endoscopic Surgery)
  • Surgery Outcomes
  • Transplant Research
  • Virtual Reality Simulation Based Training
  • Performance Assessment Methodology


View recent Department of Surgery publications in the Scholarly Commons database.


Our faculty will be transitioning their primary academic appointments to the University of Massachusetts Medical School-Baystate and will retain their Tufts University School of Medicine affiliations as adjunct faculty.

Cardiac Surgery Division

Abdallah K. Alameddine, M.D.

David W. Deaton, M.D.

Daniel T. Engelman, M.D.

Richard M. Engelman, M.D.

Joseph E. Flack III, M.D.

Colorectal Surgery Division

Ziad Kutayli, M.D.

Kelly M. Tyler, M.D.

Jan B. Wojcik, M.D.

Dental/Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery  Division

Richard J. Fraziero, D.M.D., M.D.

General Surgery Division

Michael P. Albert, M.D.

Albert I. Alexander, M.D.

Thampi K. Ampadi, M.D.

Gladys L. Fernandez, M.D.

James Leslie Frank, M.D.

Paul Friedmann, M.D.

Azad A. Jabiev, M.D.

Jay N. Kuhn, M.D.

Patrick C. Lee, M.D.

Alan D. McClelland, M.D.

John R. Romanelli, M.D.

Neal E. Seymour, M.D.

Holly Sheldon, M.D.

Jacqueline Wu, M.D.

Neurosurgery Division

Thomas S. Kaye, M.D.

Mohamad Khaled, M.D.

Dennis S. Oh, M.D.

Robert Schapiro, M.D.

Ophthalmology Division

Steven J. Covici, M.D.

David R. Lally, M.D.

Andrew Lam, M.D.

Orthopedic Surgery Division

Louis M. Adler, M.D.

Bennett S. Burns, M.D.

John R., Corsetti, M.D.

Robert S. Cowan, M.D.

Sumner Karas, M.D.

Paul A. Koerner, M.D.

Robert J. Krushell, M.D.

Marc A. Linson, M.D.

Martin J. Luber, M.D.

Morton D. Lynn, M.D.

Steven M. Wenner, M.D.

Jeffrey C. Wint, M.D.

Bruce I. Wintman, M.D.

Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery Division

Barry R. Jacobs, M.D.

Jerry M. Schreibstein, M.D.

Pediatric Surgery Division

Gregory T. Banever, M.D.

Rebecca Brocks, M.D.

AnneMarie LeGrand, B.S.N., M.H.S.,PA-C

Kevin P. Moriarty, M.D. 

David B. Tashjian, M.D.

Michael V. Tirabassi, M.D. 

Plastic Surgery Division

Glen S. Brooks, M.D.

Richard T. Martin, M.D.

Pranay M. Parikh, M.D.

Benjamin Schalet, M.D., M.S.

Kristin Stueber, M.D.

Surgical Oncology Division

Richard B. Arenas, M.D.

Nicolas Jabbour, M.D.

Holly S. Mason, M.D.

Lauren L. Wheeler, B.A., P.A.-C., M.Sc.

Thoracic Surgery Division

Rose B. Ganim, M.D.

Mark M. Sherman, M.D.

Transplant Surgery Division

Alexander Kurbanov, M.D.

George S. Lipkowitz, M.D.

John C. Lohlun, M.D.

Robert L. Madden, M.D.

Kenneth J. McPartland, M.D.

Trauma, Acute Care, Surgical Critical Care Division

Reginald Alouidor, M.D.

Andrew R. Doben, M.D.

Ronald I. Gross, M.D., F.A.C.S.

Susan Kartiko, M.D., Ph.D.

Eleanor S. Winston, M.D.

Urology Division

Richard Alexander, M.D.

Stephen J. Gallo, M.D.

Leonard H. Shaker, M.D.

Jonathan S. Starkman, M.D.

William Swanson, M.D.

Stanley J. Swierzewski III, M.D. 

Vascular Surgery Division

Neal C. Hadro, M.D.

Jeffrey L. Kaufman, M.D.

Marvin E. Morris, M.D.

Marc A. Norris, M.D.

Sang Won Rhee, M.D.