You are using an older version of Internet Explorer that is not supported on this site. Please upgrade for the best experience.

Department of Psychiatry, UMMS-Baystate


UMMS-Baystate logo759 Chestnut Street, WG703
Springfield, MA 01199
phone: 413-794-4235

Education Programs


4th Year Electives for Medical Students


View recent Department of Psychiatry publications in the Scholarly Commons database.


Our faculty are transitioning their primary academic appointments to UMass Medical School-Baystate. They will retain their Tufts University School of Medicine affiliations as adjunct faculty.

View our Psychiatry faculty profiles on the UMass Medical School website.

General Psychiatry Division

  • Barry D. Sarvet, M.D.
  • Edward S. Ballis, M.D.
  • Sara A. Brewer, M.D.
  • Carolyn A. Broudy, M.D.
  • Rodrigo Botelho De Arruda Falcao, M.D.
  • Maureen Dimock, M.S.W., LICSW
  • Katherine M. Hildreth-Fortin, M.S.W.
  • Janet C Kennedy, M.D.
  • Walter James Kilpatrick III, D.O.
  • David B. Levit, Ph.D.
  • Benjamin Liptzin, M.D.
  • Michael S. Robbins, M.A.
  • Jessica A. Wozniak, Psy.D.

Adult Inpatient Psychiatry Division

  • John Sloan Hopkins, M.D., M.S.P.H.
  • Lawrence C. Peters, M.D., Ph.D.

Adult Outpatient Psychiatry Division

  • Michelle Kosche Anfang, M.D.
  • Stuart A. Anfang, M.D.
  • Abel T. Gonzalez, M.D.
  • Kent Eric Higgins, Ph.D.
  • Stephane Jacobus, Ph.D.
  • Gary B. Kaskey, M.D.
  • Alan D. Seigel, M.S.W., LICSW
  • Valerie C. Sharpe, M.D.
  • Barbara K. Sprague, R.N., M.S.W., LICSW
  • Brenda Temblador, Ph.D.
  • George Heber Teter, M.D.
  • Welli Yeh, Ph.D.

Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Division

  • Olga Aponte-Slater, M.D.
  • Stephanie M. Daly, M.D.
  • Jill Donelan, Psy.D.
  • Peter Thunfors, Ph.D.
  • Bruce D. Waslick, M.D.
  • Shadi Zaghloul, M.D.

Electroconvulsive Therapy Division

  • Stephen G. Mueller, M.D.

Neuropsychology Division

  • Zachary A. Marowitz, Psy.D.
  • Susan DeBarba Megas, M.S.N., R.N.

Psychiatric Consultation Service Division

  • Lewis M. Cohen, M.D.
  • Steven V. Fischel, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Stephen Luippold, M.S.
  • Joyce Smith, M.S.W.