You are using an older version of Internet Explorer that is not supported on this site. Please upgrade for the best experience.

Department of Medicine, UMMS-Baystate


UMMS-Baystate logo759 Chestnut Street, S2570
Springfield, MA 01199

UMass Medical School-Worcester

Department of Medicine website

Education Programs



4th Year Electives for Medical Students

Research Centers


View recent Department of Medicine publications in the Scholarly Commons database.


Our faculty will be transitioning their primary academic appointments to the University of Massachusetts Medical School-Baystate and will retain their Tufts University School of Medicine affiliations as adjunct faculty.

Cardiology Division

Hany S. Aziz, MD

James R. Cook, MD, MPH

Marshal T. Fox, MD

Gregory R. Giugliano, MD, SM

William A. Harbison, MD

Jaime Hernandez-Montfort, M.D.

William L. Hiser, MD

Ashequl Islam, MD

Leng Jiang, MD

John M. Joelson, MD

Shantilal N. Kenia, MD

James B. Kirchhoffer, MD

Aaron D. Kugelmass, MD, Chief

Evan Lau, M.D.

Amir Lotfi, MD

Quinn Russell Pack, MD, MSc

Peter F. Robinson, MD

Mara T. Slawsky, MD, PhD

Mathias L. Stoenescu, MD

Gregory Valania, MD

Stephen M. Wittenberg, MD

John F. Zimmerman, MD

Critical Care Medicine Division

Ernest K. Di Nino, MD

Mary Jo S. Farmer, MD, PhD

Puncho Gurung, MBBS

Thomas Higgins, MD

Patrick Mailloux, DO

William T. McGee, MD

Abigail Orenstein, MD, MPH

Jay S. Steingrub, MD

Mark Tidswell, MD

Bogdan Tiru, MD

Dermatology Division

David A. Barzilai, M.D., Ph.D.

Mark Blumberg, M.D., M.S.

Peter T. Demos, M.D.

Glenn P. Genest, M.D.

Stanley F. Glazer, M.D.

Rachel A. Ivker, M.D.

Aimee Leonard, M.D.

Ronald S. Nadel, M.D.

Arthur M. Sher, M.D.

David G. Wartman, M.D.

Nadine P. Wenner, M.D.

Endocrine and Diabetes Division

Robert J. Cooper, MD

Jeffrey M. Korff, MD

Ibitoro Osakwe, MD, Chief

Vasantha G. Reddy, MD

Nagendra Yadava, PhD

Family Medicine Division

Eric Coolidge Churchill, M.D., M.P.H.

Adam D. Garretson, M.D.

Grace May D. Goncero, M.D.

Peter B. Kassis, M.D.

Martin Lesser, D.O.

Sara Rourke, M.D.

Stephanie Denise Silverman, M.D.

Robert D. Smith, D.O.

Louis Strauss, M.D.

Gastroenterology Division

David Desilets, MD, PhD

Paul S. Farkas, MD

Rony M. Ghaoui, MD

David R. Kalman, MD

Kenneth P. Koenigs, MD

David L. Pleet, MD

Rohit Singhania, MBBS, MS

Barry E. Slitzky, MD 

General Internal Medicine Division

Aroosa Alam, MD

Glenn F. Alli, MD

Sudeep Kaur Aulakh, MD

Andrew H. Balder, MD

David A. Ballan, MD

Jonathan L. Bayuk, DO

Rebecca D. Blanchard, PhD, MEd

Elizabeth Boyle, MD

Jay S. Burton, DO

Linda Canty, MD

Jeffrey R. Cossin, MD

Elizabeth Eagleson, M.D.

Carlos M. Flores, MD

Jennifer Friderici, MSPH

Jonna I. Gaberman, MD

Philip T. Glynn, MD

Sarah L. Goff, MD

Audrey Guhn, MD

Kevin T. Hinchey, MD

Barry Z. Izenstein, MD

Craig E. Kannel, MD

Nikolaus Kashey, MD

Alexander B. Knee, MS

Thomas Lincoln, MD

Peter K. Lindenauer, MD, MSc

Gina Luciano, MD

Robert P. McGovern, MD

James L. Mugford, MD

Jeffrey J. Ochs, MD

Alfred C. Piel, MD

Yekatherine Rasmussen, MD

Carol J. Richardson, MD

Michael J. Rosenblum, MD

Jeffrey Scavron, MD

Alan L. Schneyer, PhD

Roy I. Sittig, MD

Ingrid E. Statz, MD

Orlando L. Torres MD

Noraymar Torres-Muniz, MD

Paul F. Visintainer, PhD

Dorothea S. von Goeler, MD, MPH

Sharon Wretzel, MD

Geriatrics, Palliative Care and Post-Acute Medicine Division

Maura J Brennan, MD

Wanda Colon-Cartagena, MD, MPH

Heidi-Ann Courtney, PA-C

Diane L. Dietzen, MD

Erin Leahy, M.D.

Laura Iglesias Lino, MD

Hematology Oncology Division

Syed S Ali, MD

Lucinda Cassells, MD

Leslie Howard, MD

Deborah Katz, MD

Chandravathi Loke, MD

Grace Makari-Judson, MD

John McCann, MD

Wilson Mertens, MD

Richard Steingart, MD

James A. Stewart, MD

Hospital Medicine Division

Siva Natanasbapathy, MD

Christine Bryson, DO

Raquel Belforti, DO

Kirti Joshi, MD

Christopher LaChance, MD

Tara Lagu, MD

Xiao Liu, MD

Jose Martagon-Villamil, MD

Lauren Meade, MD

Jasmine Paadam, MD

Michael Picchioni, MD

Stephen Ryzewicz, MD

Adrianne Seiler, MD

Reham Shaaban, MD

Mihaela Stefan, MD

Linie Thomas, MD

Vishal Tiwari, MD

Infectious Diseases Division

Andrew W. Artenstein, MD

Richard B. Brown, MD

Eric V. Granowitz, MD

Sarah D. Haessler, MD

Neil Kudler, MD

Julius Larioza, MD

Claire E. Magauran, MD

Jose A. Martagon-Villamil, MD

Armando Paez, MD

Jennifer J. Schimmel, MD

Daniel J. Skiest, MD

Nephrology Division

Gregory L. Braden, MD

Benjamin J. Freda, DO

Michael J. Germain, MD

Barbara A. Greco, MD

Daniel L. Landry, DO

Jeffrey G. Mulhern, MD

Michael H. O'Shea, MD

Anthony E. Poindexter, MD

Jonathan Slater, MD

Jiuming Ye, MD

Pulmonology Division

Gerald M. Green, MD

Douglas C. Johnson, MD

John N. Landis, MD

Sybille M. Liautaud, MD

Thirupaimaruth Krishnan Raman, MD

Rheumatology Division

Christine Evanchick, MD

Scott Halista, MD