You are using an older version of Internet Explorer that is not supported on this site. Please upgrade for the best experience.

Meet Our Team

Physicians & Staff

  • An Interventional Core Group of Anesthesiologists who are board certified in pain management
  • A medical management team consisting of a physician who is board certified in internal medicine and oncology
  • Family nurse practitioners who specialize in medical management of persistent non-cancer pain and palliative care
  • A physiatrist who specializes in rehabilitation medicine
  • A behavioral health psychologist and psychiatrist who specialize in the treatment of chronic pain patients
  • An addiction specialist from the Sloan Clinic
  • Acupuncturists

Baystate Medical Center Anesthesiology Staff

Lakshmi Madabhushi, MD, Chief of Pain Management Center

Muhammad Isa, MD Ashish Malik, MD

Poornachandran Manikantan, MD, Program Director, Pain Medicine Fellowship

Istvan Pulai, MD Peter Vieira, MD, Director of Inpatient Pain Management

Cuong Vu, MD

Medical Pain Management and Palliative Medicine

Alfred L. McKee, MD

Sharon Baribeau, FNP

Behavioral Health

George Teter, MD

Kent Higgins, PhD

Alan Siegel, LICSW

Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation

Julio Martinez-Silvestrini, MD


James D. Moran, LIC, AC, D.AC

John S. Varner, LIC, AC

Program Manager

Carole Putz, RN

Through Baystate's affiliation with Tuft's Medical School, the Pain Management Center at Baystate Medical Center offers a pain medicine for anesthesiologists who choose to specialize in Pain Management. We are able to accommodate four fellows; the length of the program is twelve months. During this time they work closely with the attending physicians to provide comprehensive care to our patients. They receive extensive experience due to our high volume of patients.

Our Locations